Sunday, 6 September 2015

Heyrod power station

Here a little history about the Power station 
Preparations for a power station at Heyrod began in 1916 when 26 acres (110,000 m2) of land were purchased. The station was opened in 1926 by the Stalybridge, Hyde, Mossley and Dukinfield Transport and Electricity Board.[1] The station began operation with three Metropolitan-Vickers 12,500kW turbo-alternators generating at the local SHMD supply frequency of 40Hz. Later that year the station's output was changed to the nationally agreed standard of 50Hz. In 1935, a major expansion of Hartshead began with the first of three new Metropolitan-Vickers 30,000kW generating sets being commissioned, followed by the second set in 1943 and the third set in 1950. The station's concrete cooling towers were constructed in the 1940s.[2] Coal was delivered to the plant at Millbrook railway sidings on the Micklehurst Line, situated on the opposite side of the Huddersfield Narrow Canal. The sidings were built in 1932 and had space to hold up to 130 12-ton wagons. Coal was fed into a hopper underneath the sidings before being transported on an enclosed conveyor belt which emerged high above the valley to cross the River Tame and canal before entering the station at a high level.[3] The station was closed on 29 October 1979 with a generating capacity of 64 megawatts.[4] It was demolished during the late 1980s, although part of the site is still used as an electrical substation.



start of a intresting explore



 Hygene




 urinal has a leak





some serious stuff here




Air valve

Part of a conveyor system linking the two sites 





click on pictures to enlarge

No comments:

Post a Comment